Current favourites

Hello everyone, hope you are all having/had a fab day. Today I wanted to share with you my current favourites as I have been loving so many new things recently. So lets get started…

Beauty

The weather in Yorkshire, England has been unbelievable this past week, it has been ridiculously warm so as you can imagine my beauty routine has changed up quite a bit, meaning I discovered or re-discovered some fantastic products.

lady danger
Lady Danger lipstick by MAC

Lady Danger lipstick by MAC – Every Summer this lipstick is my go-to, so I knew it would definitely be making an reappearance Summer 2017. If there is one mac product that is worth the money it is the lipsticks. This lipstick is a matte finish and is a stunning, bright, orangey red colour. It has an extremely creamy consistency making it easy to apply and non-drying. I much prefer this warm, orange based red over the classic blue toned red (eg Russian Red by MAC), I feel that it suits my skin tone much more and I tend to wear a lot of clothing in the summer that is of similar colour, meaning I can match, yay!

hoola
Hoola bronzing powder by Benefit

Hoola bronzing powder by Benefit – In winter I always stick to the classic chiseled, contoured look but in summer I love looking more tanned, glowy and healthy and this bronzer seems to do exactly that. This bronzer is matte and is the perfect colour for a medium skin tone like myself. However I have seen that Benefit have come out with a lighter version of the Hoola bronzer for people with a lighter skin tone which I think is fantastic because the texture is so silky and blendable. Another useful thing about this product is that it has a mirror inside and it comes with a small brush that is super soft!

Nail varnish – This seems kinda random but I have been loving just nail varnish in general at the moment. I think it is because I am starting to wear sandals more as the weather gets warmer so I am having to paint my toes and while I’m at it, I paint my finger nails too. My favourite brand for nail varnish has to be BarryM, it has such a vast range of colours and finishes. Some of my favourite shades are Gelly 16 Passionfruit and Gelly 22 Almond.

Film/Tv

Love Island (TV) – If you live in England you will know that Love Island started again a couple of weeks ago for season 3. If you don’t, Love Island is the show that every Brit is currently obsessed with. The show starts with 12 single men and women who fly out to Mallorca, Spain, to live in a luxury villa for 7 weeks. But it’s not just as straight forward as a extended break in the sun, for the contestants will be frolicking and flirting with each other in the hopes of winning the show. They will need to win the hearts of the public to remain in the villa and try to win the £50,000 prize, as the power is in the viewers’ hands. The audience at home will determine who stays and who goes, until one couple remains. It is on every night apart from Saturdays at 9pm on ITV2 – get tuned in!

handmaids tv
The opening sequence to The Handmaid’s Tale

The Handmaids Tale (TV) – If you didn’t know already, the fantastic and gripping novel by Margaret Atwood has been made into a TV adaptation – and it’s amaze. Set in a dystopian country named Gilead, the show follows Offred, a young woman who has been ripped away from her family to become a handmaid – a woman assigned to wealthy, infertile couples to make and grow the husbands child. If you are interested it’s on Channel 4, every Sunday at 9.

blue
Adéle Exarchopoulos and Léa Seydoux in Blue Is the Warmest Colour

Blue Is the Warmest Colour (Film) – I watched this film last week and I fell in love with it. The film is set in Lille, where Adèle’s (Adèle Exarchopoulos) life is changed when she meets Emma (Léa Seydoux), a young woman with blue hair, who will allow her to discover desire and to assert herself as a woman and as an adult. In front of others, Adèle grows, seeks herself, loses herself, and ultimately finds herself through love and loss. The acting in this film is mesmerizing, it is so realistic, I believed every word they said to each other.

Music

Lofi hip-hop music – This past week I have discovered a completely new genre of music – how weird is that! I feel like I have been looking for this type of music for a long time. Do you know when you hear a couple of songs that you really like but you don’t really know what category they come under? That was my exact position. Anyway after I stumbled across the term ‘Lofi hip-hop’, it was like a light bulb came on in my head haha. I find this type of music so calming, I usually listen to it when I’m studying or just relaxing and chilling out. The actual word ‘lo-fi’ is short for ‘low fidelity’ which is a type of sound recording which contains technical flaws that make the recording sound different compared with the live sound being recorded, such as distortion, hum, background noise, or limited frequency response. Here is one of my favourite Lofi hip-hop mixes, give it a listen and tell me what you think!

I follow rivers // Lykke Li The Magician remix- this is really because of the film Blue Is the Warmest Colour that I mentioned earlier. This song is part of the film’s soundtrack and as soon as I heard it made me feel really nostalgic, I love songs that do that. Click here to listen.

wild thoughts
Rihanna in the Wild Thoughts music video

Wild Thoughts // DJ Khaled ft Rihanna and Bryson Tiller – this is brand new, it only came out less than a week ago, I’m telling you, this track is going to be biiiiig. If i could be anyone in the world i would be Rihanna, I have so much love for the woman, she is my complete inspiration. I also adore Bryson Tiller, i saw him live in March and he was fab, i definitely recommend his album Trapsoul too. Click here to listen.

Devil Eyes // Hippie Sabotage – This song is such a classic, especially if you used to be on vine (RIP). Click here to listen.

Random

messy bun

Messy buns – I have never really been able to master the cute, tumblr ‘messy bun’ and when I do I wont be able to do it again for months, I always leave it up to luck and most of the time end up looking like Miss Trunchbull from Matilda. However, recently something must have happened to my messy bun making skills, because I am managing to perfect them day after day after day. It really is the perfect hairstyle for warm days, as all your hair is off your face but you still look cute.

macbook

Macbook Pro – It is my Eighteenth birthday a week tomorrow (29th June), and my big present from my parents is a Macbook pro! I couldn’t be more happy and grateful to them, I have been wanting one for such a long time and it kinda doesn’t seem real that I actually have one now. It will be so useful for uni next year and for my blog too.

I really hope you enjoyed reading about my current favourites, do you have any current favourites? Let me know! Look out for some more posts from me very soon, I have a lot of blog posts planned for Oliviasummergrace and I can’t wait for you to read them.

♡ O L I V I A 

Leave a Reply

